Monday, June 9, 2014

Snubfest 2014!

Snubfest is at ZANIES this week! The comedy festival (founded by Angie McMahon) that started as an organic response to getting rejected is now in it's it's 8th year. The concept is simple, the 4 day Snubfest showcases comedic talent from around the country that have been rejected from major festivals in the lat 12 months. Rejected comics (who are still some of the best in the country) are selected by Snubfest to compete for performance slots on local and national stages. Since 2006 Snubfest has connected performers to industry professionals in Stand Up, Storytelling, Sketch Comedy, and Solo Performances. Snubfest has had some impressive past performers including TJ Miller, Vanessa Bayer, Nick Vatterott, Lauren Lapkus, Cameron Esposito and Jacob Willams just to name a few. We've broken down the lineups by date, Do it!

Monday, June 9 - Storytelling
Stephanie Douglass
John Leadley
Deanna Moffitt
Mary Lorenz
Pathrick J. Salem
Mike Gilford
Erin Lane
Alicia Swiz
Dave Stinton
Paul Whitehouse
Host: Sean Flannery (winner of Snubfest 2007)
Judges: Monte LaMonte, Shannon Cason, Justin Kaufmann
Prize: Winner featured on WBEZ's Afternoon Shift

Tuesday, June 10 - Solo Character Performance
Jen Bosworth
Eric Oren
Erin Kay Van Pay
Caryn Ruby
Andy Bohannon Orscheln
Walt Delaney
Michael Lehrer
Paul Thomas
Stacey Smith
Miguel Lepe Jr.
Stephanie Renee Kauffman,
Sherra Lasley
Patrick Rowland
Judges: Matt Barbera
Prize: Performance at Magnet Theater NYC

Wednesday, June 11 - Sketch Comedy
Margolis and Reisman
Manic Episode
Carmaine, Oh Theodora
Abbaria, Pretty/Windy
Focus on the Ham
Shock T's
Pinque Pony
Rabbit Rabbit
Prize: Performance slot in NY Sketch Comedy Festival at The PIT NY

Thursday, June 12 - Stand Up Comedy
Rob Speer
Cody Melcher
Matthew H Chadourne
Dan Perlman
Byron Stamps
Eileen Tull
Nigel Ng
Josh Johnson
Bram Funk
Dan Peff
Sam Norton
Curtis Cook
Lucky Luciano
Robby Cole
Andrea Cordts
Host: Danny Kallas (winner Snubfest 2010)
Judges: Rep from Comedy Bar Chicago, Rep from Laugh Factory Chicago, and tbd
Prize: Performance slots at Laugh Factory and Comedy Bar

Check for more info.